Can I get an Amen?!

I don’t go to Church but I sure as hell appreciate people who do.

I like the idea of people from the same community coming together to share a common bond.  One could argue that people attend sporting events or get drunk at bars for this very reason, and I’m not totally disagreeing with this. However, the fact that people rise up early on Sunday Funday, shower, put themselves together, navigate through parking lot traffic and sit somewhere for at least an hour without beverages or snacks all in the goal of doing something good is a miracle in and of itself.

I know many people are against organized religion. With the Duggars and Billy Grahams of the world and extremist, it’s certainly understandable why one would not support any kind of  religion. Some of the kindest most charitable people I know only use the Lord’s name when they’re angry and a damn is always involved.  Still, though, religion gives us so many great things. Without it we wouldn’t have Judy Blume’s Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret or Jesus Christ the Superstar with Ted Neely. Hottest Jesus ever.

I believe in God but also the power of the Universe, so I truly people that thousands of people coming together, half of them with positive thoughts (while the other half is doing anything from balancing their bank accounts to coveting thy wife’s neighbor) is really doing something for the collective whole. Some people go above and beyond and attend the pancake breakfast after mass – or the sermon – and participate in charity events.

I myself am too lazy and unmotivated to go to church. It’s just the plain truth. I also blame some of it on being single. Even though church is supposed to be all about love, respect and acceptance (and some really are this way), I feel so uncomfortable sitting in a pew by myself.  Also, I’m a bit of brat and feel that I have a credit with God since I attended Catholic school for years. Therefore, I probably don’t really need to go to mass (or church as some call it) until I’m 50. I also say few Hail Mary’s every now and then.

But a big Amen  to those of you who get it together and go to church every week. An Amen and Halleluiah to those of you who practice the Golden Rule and accept people for who they are. I like to ask myself, “What would Jesus do?” and I feel that by following this advice about 80%  of the time, I have a 50/50 chance of  getting into Heaven.

Leave a Reply

