Holiday Rant

Although I love the holiday season, the equilibrium in my universe is completely thrown off about a week before Christmas, when kids are out of school and grandparents and distant relatives are in town. Both space and time become too condensed. I forget that I need to give myself an extra thirty minutes to an hour to complete tasks that usually take me 15 minutes. I feel that corporate America needs to accommodate me and their regular customers during this time of the year.

 

For example, Bank of America needs to set up an additional ATM at my local bank with a blinking sign that says “Withdrawals Only.” I’m in a hurry, I like to get my money and put the pedal to the medal. I don’t have the time or the gas to wait while people read their balances, only to have to re-enter their pen number so that they can either take out money or slowly deposit their $5 or $10 bills, only to THEN re-enter their pen number and take out a $20. Yes, I’ve seen things of this nature happening. And it’s perfectly okay to use the public ATM as your personal banking device when it’s 2 a.am. in the morning and no one is behind you. It is never okay to do this during the holiday season, or really any time of the year. I think after this rant, I’m going to contact BOA and tell them they need an express ATM line.

 

Panera, my go to lunch/dinner spot. Ahh, I do not have the energy to wait while six twelve-year-old girls in front of me individually order a bagel with water or blackberry smoothie. Set up a separate line for them. In fact, anyone, anywhere, at any time, please don’t stand in line to order your meal until you know what you want. Please don’t use the ten-minute line to catch up on a year’s worth of small talk only to get to the cash register in utter shock, realizing that you were actually standing in line for a purpose, which was to order something at a restaurant that has a limited assortment of food.

 

And finally, drivers. Please, please pay attention and be patient (I have to remind myself of this one). Driving rules don’t change during the holidays. There is a system to lights: green, yellow, red, green, yellow, red. It’s okay if you don’t make it through the  yellow light. You’ll get another chance to make your left turn in the near future. Just sit in your car and enjoy your holiday music or practice your deep breathing exercises or guided imagery, imagining yourself somewhere calm. Or, take a few minutes to complete your banking online so that you don’t waste other people’s time while you go thru the ATM line. (Please only do this one when your car is not moving).

Leave a Reply

