$50 1992 Shorts

My $50 1992 Shorts
My $50 1992 Shorts

JULY 27

Don’t you just love it when a store’s entire front window has a 75% off sale sign, immediately making you believe, though only for a split second, that this sign applies to every item in the store?

As you walk in, tiny sale signs are displayed on round modern tables and clear plastic sign holders with bright, pretty sale signs hang from the ceiling.

This was my scene at the Gap today. And yes, I still shop at the Gap. Post 4th of July, summer sales are in full force with. It’s time to make room for fall clothes so that teens can spend all their summer earnings. I, on the other hand, am nowhere close to thinking about fall. I still haven’t completed my summer shopping. With having gone up two dress sizes over the winter, I’ve had to slowly build a new summer wardrobe. It’s taken time because my style is what’s on sale and what fits.

When it comes to finding basic shorts and tees (which, like a 5 year old, is what I like to wear during the summer), Gap is as reliable as my neighbor’s evening Coorslite cocktail hour in the back of his truck. At Gap, you have your basic cuffed shorts, striped tops, loose fitting summer dresses, and sheer starchy blouses. Every year it’s different though similar items. The downfall with their clothes being similar — and their marketers know this — is that you end of grabbing the one item that is not on sale! In my case, I took the only size 30 denim boyfriend shorts that fit. Of course ALL the other shorts were on sale. The cut-off dark denim shorts on the other table were on sale. But no, the one pair of shorts that fit me (barely), was not on sale. No longer does your $15 dollar t-shirt seem like such a big deal because you still end up spending $70 bucks. Really that 75% off sale was just foreshadowing what I was going to spend. And I did end up spending $75 because I had to treat myself to a pick-me-up-latte-because -I’ve-been-duped. It was good.

Leave a Reply

